What is the Horsetooth Time Trial Series?

The HTTT is a low cost, mid week, grassroots, road time trial series that takes place in April each year. The HTTTs were the first races promoted by YGR in 2009 and are still the most well attended. Races cost $10.00 and are open to riders of all ages and abilities. We have male and female categories as well as categories for regular road bikes, time trial bikes and mountain bikes.  See descriptions below. 





Start location:
West of JJs gas station at the intersection of Harmony and Taft Hill roads.  See map below. 


Further information about the HTTT will be posted here when it's available. 

Eddy Merckx- This category is named after the great Belgian cyclist, Eddy Merckx. Merckx won 450 races, 35% of the races he entered. Racers in this category can only race on standard 'mass start legal' road bikes. Aero bars, disc wheels, time trial helmets are not allowed. Skin suits and shoe covers are ok. 

Aero- The Aero category allows for any type of time trial, triathlon bike or road bike with aero components. The more aerodynamic the better.  Aero bars, disc wheels, aero helmets, skin suits and shoe covers are encouraged. Break out the fancy stuff. 

Kerkove- The Kerkove Kategory is named for former Fort Collins resident, Jeff Kerkove.  Jeff had a tendency to attend the Oval, Wednesday Worlds and YGR Time Trials on his mountain bike. Racers in this category must race on a mountain bike with knobby tires. No CX tires or slicks. 

Zagster- This is a new category for 2016 and may not be held during every series. Check the race flyer for details. Racers must race on one of the Zagster Bike Share bicycles owned by the City of Fort Collins.  Just register online and show up to the race start and you steed will be waiting for you.